Do bats eat birds?

The greater noctule bat (Nyctalus lasiopterus), the biggest bat in Europe, lives off insects in the summer. But in the autumn and spring, the bats turn their attentions to the huge flocks of songbirds that migrate at night to avoid daytime predators such as falcons.