Why are peanuts called goobers?

It was first propagated in South America, then exported to Asia, Europe and Africa. The peanut proved very popular in Africa, and it was African slaves who brought the peanut to the southern United States. The term goober is derived from the Kongo word, nguba, spelled N G U B A