Is it bad not to wear underwear?

Wearing underwear or not is generally a personal choice. Underwear can help keep the genital area clean, supported, and protected, and also helps keep your outer lower garments (pants, skirts, etc.) cleaner/less sweaty. It can also help mask the shape of the genital region, a fashion consideration.