How much is a u. s. savings bond worth that's forty years old?

Assuming that it is a series EE savings bond issued in 1981, it has matured and is no longer earning interest. A $50 face value savings bond issued in 1981 would be worth $146.90 based on the US Treasury Department's calculator.