What does blot mean?

Blot means, 1 : to spot, stain, or spatter with a discoloring substance 2 obsolete : mar especially : to stain with infamy 3 a : to dry (something, such as writing) with an absorbing agent hastily blotted her letter b : to remove with absorbing material blotting up spilled water.