Why are monkeys stinky?

All wild animals acquire smells over time. These scents are usually unique to each animal. Although monkeys do occasionally go in the water, water by itself is not going to remove their scent. If you have ever bathed your dog, notice once outside they roll in the dirt to gain back their wild scent.