What is a davenport couch?

Davenport was the name of a series of sofas made by the furniture manufacturer A. H. Davenport and Company, now defunct. Due to the popularity at the time, the name davenport became a genericized trademark. In modern use, it is used to mean a futon-style sofa with storage under the seat area.