How thick is a hippo skin?

2 inches The skin of a Hippo is 2 inches thick on the flanks but thinner elsewhere and nearly hairless. Color is grayish brown, with pinkish underparts. The mouth is half a meter wide and can gape 150° to show the teeth. The lower canines are sharp and may exceed12 inches.