How did bing crosby get the nick name bing?

When 6, neighbor Valentine Hobart gave him the nickname. A featured character in the comic "Bingville Bugle," Bingo, was pear-shaped with bulging ears, like the young Crosby. Hobart started calling Crosby “Bingo from Bingville.” Before too long, the nickname was shortened to just “Bing.”