What does n. a. n. miles mean?

In computing & data processing, NAN or N.A.N means "not a number." It is an error message used when an integer or real number value is expected in a field, but some other data type is there instead. For example, if the data is an image of Miles Davis instead of a numeric value, that's a NAN error.