Why don't dogs have belly buttons?

Since dogs are born with an umbilical cord, like we are, they do have belly buttons. When the umbilical cord heals and falls away, it leaves a dimple in the skin.

---

Dogs (and all mammals) do actually have belly buttons; they are just so small and covered with fur that you can't see them easily, though sometimes you can feel a little bump where they are.