Why don't dogs have belly buttons?

Dogs (and all mammals) do actually have belly buttons; they are just so small and covered with fur that you can't see them easily, though sometimes you can feel a little bump where they are.

---

Since dogs are born with an umbilical cord, like we are, they do have belly buttons. When the umbilical cord heals and falls away, it leaves a dimple in the skin.