What crime did johnny cash commit?

He was arrested seven times, but despite landing in jail for each of them, his stay only lasted a night. His most infamous run-in with the law occurred in October, 1964 when he was on tour and arrested by a narcotics team who thought he was smuggling drugs from Mexico.