How to trigger a motion sensor?

How do you trick a motion sensor to stay on? You can try to quickly turn the motion sensor ON, OFF, ON to override the motion detection and make the light stay on. To go back to motion detection mode, turn the motion sensor switch off and wait for about 10 seconds, and then turn it on again.