Why is a horseshoe lucky?

People once believed that the horseshoe could keep evil spirits out of their homes, and thus bring in (or keep in) good fortune. Good luck is also attributed to horseshoes because being a blacksmith was considered a lucky trade. Additionally, iron was deemed magical because it could withstand fire.