What position is number 12 in soccer?

Soccer teams traditionally used the numbers 1-11, and when substitutions were allowed in the 1960s, 12 was given to the substitute. It later became common for the backup goalkeeper, but now that players are free to wear any number from 1-99, 12 is worn by players from all positions.

---

goalie