How fast do you frost a cake?

If the cake still feels fairly warm after 30 minutes, let it cool longer, as frosting melts easily if there is residual warmth. If possible, a cake is best left for 1.5 to 2 hours before frosting, to ensure it is cold inside as well well as on its surface area.