Why is the united states called the united states?

Ben Franklin began popularizing the concept of a politically "United Colonies" in America, in 1754. Thomas Jefferson coined the name "United States of America" in his June 1776 draft of the Declaration of Independence. On September 9, 1776, the Second Continental Congress formally adopted the name.