Is there such thing as five hundred dollar bills?

High-denomination bills, which include the $500 bill, were officially discontinued by the Federal Reserve System in July of 1969 when it began to take the bills out of circulation. That being said, these bills are still legal tender.

---

Most $500 notes in circulation today are in the hands of dealers and collectors. ... Although no longer in circulation, the $500 bill remains legal tender.