What is dance revolution?

Dance Dance Revolution is a video game series introduced in Japan in 1998 and released in North America and Europe in 1999. Players stand on a "dance platform" and hit colored arrows laid out in a cross with their feet to musical and visual cues. Players are judged by how well they time their dance.