How did michael jackson become white?

Michael Jackson supposedly suffered from vitiligo, a skin conditions in which the skin cells lose their pigmentation thus lightening the skin. This usually results in blotches of lighter skin. He may have used lightening agents to allow a more uniform appearance as the disease progressed.