How do you get green cherries?

Usually, varieties that are lighter in color, such as Gold, Rainier, or Royal Ann cherries, are used. The cherries are first soaked in a brine solution that typically contains calcium chloride and sulfur dioxide. This bleaches the cherries, removing their natural red pigment and flavor.