When was contact lenses invented?

According to some, F.A. Muller, a German glassblower, used John Herschel’s ideas to come up with the first known glass contact lens in 1887. Others say that it was actually Adolf Fick and Edouard Kalt, Paris opticians, who created and fitted the first glass contact lenses for vision in 1888.