How do flies multiply?

The gestation of a house fly egg is only 24 hours, and infestations spread at alarming rates. Larvae emerge from their eggs and begin feeding. Using their egg site as a source of food, the larvae, which are referred to as maggots, eat for four days in order to store nutrients for metamorphosis