Is cereal considered a snack?

Yes, cereal, as in packaged breakfast cereal can be considered a snack. Especially if eaten dry from the box. Breakfast cereal is not considered a complete meal unless combined with milk, fruit and juice. Other less processed foods might be considered cereals, such as oatmeal, or cream of wheat.