What kind of meat is used for carne asada?

The cut of beef you use should be flavorful, but it doesn't need to be tender. Carne asada is usually made from skirt steak. Alternatives include flank steak, sirloin flap meat, or even trimmed brisket cut into 1-inch thick "steaks" and then again into thin strips.