What kind of leaves do caterpillars eat?

Different types of caterpillars eat different types of leaves. Black swallowtail caterpillars will eat any plants in the parsley family, while morning cloak caterpillars eat trees like willow, elm, aspen, paper birch, cottonwood, or hackberry. Monarch caterpillars eat milkweed.