Who played the professor in back to the future?

The professor was played by American actor Christopher Lloyd.

---

Christopher Lloyd

---

Emmett "Doc" Brown, Ph.D., a fictional character in the Back to the Future trilogy in which he is the inventor of the 1st time machine, built out of a DeLorean sports car, is portrayed by Christopher Lloyd in all three films, as well as in the live action sequences of the animated series.

---

The Professor on Back to the Future was played by Christopher Lloyd

---

Christofer Lloyd plays Emmett "Doc" Brown, inventor of the time-traveling DeLorean, who helps Marty McFly repair history and return to 1985.