What's a hippo hero?

"Hippo hero" is part of a lyric from the song "I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas." It was mostly written that way to preserve the rhythm and internal rhyme of the song, but it also reflects the child's happy, mildly-awestruck regard of a hippo as a friend and pet.