Why are mummies wrapped?

Mummies are wrapped in bandages to make them look nicer. When mummies are dried, they shrivel up and look like skin tightly covering bones. Bandages are carefully wrapped around the body to give it a rounder, more human appearance. Mummies are meant to look like the god Osiris.