Who said there is no such thing as a free lunch?

In 1969 a columnist in the “Boston Herald Traveler” of Massachusetts attributed the saying to the economist Milton Friedman: Prof. Friedman once wrote that the one big truth in economics is that there is no such thing as a free lunch.