What's the definition of anime?

Anime, short for animation, is the Japanese term for animation. Outside of Japan, it is a particular Japanese style characterized by stark colorful graphics, depicting vibrant characters in action-filled plots, often with fantastic or futuristic themes. In Japan, anime describes all animated works.