Who is the superhero guardian?

The DC Comics Superhero, The Guardian, was originally created in 1942 with no super powers at all. His alter ego was James “Jim” Harper of the Metropolis P.D. where he engaged a group of youth, The Newsboy Legion, as his sidekicks thereby becoming their ‘guardian’.