Why did the american afghan war start?

After September 11th attack on US soil carried on by Al-Qaeda operatives, US demanded Afghanistan to have over the leader of Al-Qaeda, Bin Laden. When Afghan Taliban refused to cooperate since they had given pashtunwali, promise to protect him as a gust, US took the war approach to capture him.

---

Following the September 11, 2001 attacks on the United States by the terrorist group al Qaeda, US President George W. Bush declared a war on terrorism, and the US led a coalition invasion of Afghanistan to topple the ruling Taliban due to their support for Al Qaeda.