How do you win a nerf gun battle?

Build fear where possible. Go on the offensive. Defend your base. Take cover. Do not use damaged darts. Preserve your shots. Have a secondary always ready. Trick your enemy into rushing you by having your weapons loaded and ready then yell out that you are out of ammo.