Can chipmunks talk?

Chipmunks cannot talk, but they communicate by making different sounds. The most frequent is a high-pitched "chip" noise similar to a bird chirp. To respond to threats on the ground, the usual chipmunk noise is a deep clucking sound, which alerts other chipmunks to danger.