What happens after you defeat the ender dragon?

Upon defeat, the Ender Dragon will slowly ascend and slowly disappear. A Dragon Egg is also spawned above the island's central bedrock structure. An Exit Portal will be generated at this structure, allowing the player to transport back to the Overworld and respawn at their spawn point.