What's the difference between la nina and el nino?

In the Spanish language, the word "la" refers to a feminine word and the "el" refers to a masculine word. In the case of "niña" and "niño," this is a literal case, as they mean "little girl" and "little boy." You can also tell the difference because the "a" ending is feminine and the "o" masculine.