What is english descriptive audio?

descriptive audio is like subtitles but for blind people. The movie is read out loud similar to an audiobook. Han looks up, Chewbacca roars and fires his bowcaster at oncoming stormtroopers, a tie fighter screams overhead being chased by poe… and so forth