When did hong kong gain independence?

Sadly Hong Kong did not gain independence. On July 1, 1997 rule of Hong Kong was transferred from the British to the Chinese with an agreement that Hong Kong could maintain its system of Democratic rule and its capitalist economic system for a period of 50 years.