Is the one and only ivan based on a true story?

Our June pick is The One and Only Ivan, a Newbery Medal-winning book by Katherine Applegate. It tells the story of a gorilla who spent 27 years in a shopping mall in Tacoma, Wash. — and it's based on a true story. The real-life Ivan finally made his way to the Atlanta Zoo.