What's the origin of ring around the rosies?

it is said that "ring around the rosie" was a childrens song from the great plague of london 1665. ring around the rosie, refers to the rash one would get at the onset, pocket full of posies, refers to flowers one would carry to supposedly ward off the plague by smelling them.