Why are tennis balls yellow?

Yellow and white are the only ball colors approved by the International Tennis Federation. Most tennis balls are a fluorescent yellow color known as optic yellow. This ball color was first introduced in 1972 following research that demonstrated that balls of this color were easier to see on TV.

---

Most tennis balls are a fluorescent yellow known as “optic yellow” first introduced in 1972 following research proving they were more visible on television