Was bob ross color blind?

No, he was not. In an episode entitled "Shades of Grey," Ross explains he had been approached by a man who said he couldn't paint because he was colorblind and could only see gray tones. "So I thought today we'd do a picture in gray just to show you that anyone can paint," says Ross.