Which came first the duck or the egg?

The duck, because created the animals first.

---

The egg came first. It was a genetic mutation in the egg of a predecessor to the duck. One can expect that there was a series of genetic mutations that finally resulted in the duck as a unique species. Genetic mutations that get passed along to the offspring always occur in the egg.