What year did paper towels come out?

In 1879, a Philadelphia schoolteacher handed out soft paper to students as a more hygenic way to wipe their hands and noses during a flu outbreak. Arthur Scott, a manufacturer of toilet paper, recalled reading about this and repurposed a defective batch of toilet paper as "Sani-Towels" in 1907