Who invented the duffel bag?

A duffel bag, known to some as a duffle bag, kit bag or gym bag, is a large cylindrical bag made of fabric with a drawstring or zipper closure at the top. The origins of duffel or duffle came in the mid 17th century: from Duffel, the name of a town in Belgium where the cloth was originally made.