Where are diamonds located in minecraft?

From the official Minecraft wiki: Diamond ore can be found in layers 1-16, in small veins of 1-10 ores, and can only be mined using an iron or diamond pickaxe. Outside of mining, diamonds can be rarely found in naturally generated chests, such as those found in a village or an abandoned mine shaft.

---

Diamonds occur between the Y-coordinates 5 and 16, though they occur most often between layers 5 and 12. You can check your Y-coordinates by opening your map (console and PE), or by pressing F3 (PC) or Alt + Fn + F3 (Mac).