Why is grass called grass?

The etymology of the word "grass" is from Proto-Germanic *grasan (source also of Old Norse, Old Saxon, Dutch, Old High German, German, Gothic gras), which, according to Watkins, is from *ghros meaning "young shoot, sprout," from root *ghre- "meaning to grow, become green."