What is paint made out of?

Different types of paint are made of different things. Watercolor is made up of finely ground pigment in a binder made of gum Arabic, distilled water, and other additives to preserve and stabilize. Acrylic paint has acrylic polymer as its binder and this forms a film after the water has evaporated.