What happened in nineteen eighty six?

Many things-the Iran Contra affair, the Challenger space shuttle disaster, Mike Tyson win first boxing title, Oprah Winfrey show starts, Pixar Animation Studios opens, Halleys Comet appeared, Chernoble nuclear plant accident occurred-the worst ever of its kind, Rock & Roll of Fame first inductions.